According to the video streaming service Netflix, customer data is held on their site for 10 months, including billing details after deleting their accounts a mover the fir says they want it to be easy for customers to rejoin.
Netflix says this information is available to members who choose to cancel their accounts. However things are different, Emily Keen from Oxford canceled her Netflix service in April 2019 but found her account had been charged Ks11,990 by Netflix in September.
“I tried to log in to my account, but it said my email and password had not been recognized. It turns out the criminals had changed my login details completely and had signed me up for the most expensive service.” she posted
Ms Keen contacted Netflix customer services and was told her card would be blocked and she would be refunded. However, Netflix went on to take two more payments in October and November, and refunded her only in part.
Another Former Netflix subscriber of the service has been complaining on Twitter about it happening to them too:
There is a lucrative market for Netflix login details, with criminals selling lifetime accounts on eBay for as little as £3.
Premium Accounts For Sale 🤗
1yr P320 new
2yrs P420 new
+P30 if renew
(solo account, ultra hd, 5 screens)
Youtube Premium 1month – P90
Scribd 1month – P90
Iflix 1yr – P250
Pay via: Gcash, 7/11 cliqq
— Mona (@louisemohana) November 23, 2019
📍NETFLIX PREMIUM ACCOUNTS FOR SALE
FOR ONLY P179!
Dm me for faster transaction! pic.twitter.com/39EJzspTdb
— darlene roxas (@darlenea__) November 24, 2019
Netflix says the safety of its members’ accounts is a top priority, and members who notice any unusual activity on their account should contact them immediately. But the business is still booming.
Would you like to get published on this Popular Blog? You can now email Cyprian Nyakundi any breaking news, Exposes, story ideas, human interest articles or interesting videos on: email@example.com. Videos and pictures can be sent to +254 710 280 973 on WhatsApp, Signal and Telegram.